You are here: Home / People / History of Faculty Changes

History of Faculty Changes

The following is a list of changes in the UC Davis Philosophy Department since 1970, with the number of ladder-rank full-time equivalent positions (FTE) given in parentheses after the year.

1971-72 (10)
Hire of Michael Wedin

1976-77 (9)
Resignation of Mel Beal

1977-78 (10)
Hire of G. J. Mattey

1978-79 (9)
Retirement of Marjorie Grene

1980-81 (8)
Retirement of Arthur Child

1983-84 (9)
Hire of James Griesemer

1986-87 (8)
Death of Fred Berger

1988-89 (10)
Hire of Jean Hampton, Richard Healey, Michael Jubien; Retirement of Neal Gilbert

1989-90 (11.5)
Hire of David Copp, Richard Wollheim (Temporary), Michael Dietrich (50%)

1990-91 (11.5)
Hire of Paul Teller

1991-92 (9.5)
Resignation of Jean Hampton, Richard Healey; Retirement of Ronald Arbini

1992-93 (9.5)
Hire of Jeffrey King; Retirement of William Bossart

1993-94 (9)
Resignation of Michael Dietrich

1994-95 (8)
Hire of Philip Clark; Retirement of John Malcolm and Joel Friedman

1996-97 (8.5)
Hire of Gerald Dworkin (50%); Loss of funding for Richard Wollheim

1997-98 (8.5)
Hire of Robert Cummins; Resignation of Philip Clark

1998-99 (8.75)
Hire of Connie Rosati; Increase of Gerald Dworkin to 75%; Resignation of David Copp

2000-01 (10.75)
Hire of Victor Caston, George Wilson

2002-2003 (12.75)
Hire of Karen Neander, Pekka Väyrynen

2004-2005 (11.75)
Hire of Josh Parsons, Michael Glanzberg; Recall of Henry Allison (Temporary); Resignation of Jeffrey King; Retirement of Michael Jubien, Michael Wedin

2005-2006 (7.75)
Recall of Michael Wedin (Temporary); Resignation of Connie Rosati, Victor Caston; Retirement of Robert Cummins, George Wilson

2006-2007 (13.75)
Hire of Cody Gilmore, Brendan Jackson, Robert May, Roberta Millstein, Bernard Molyneux, Adam Sennet, Jan Szaif, Jonathan Vogel; Resignation of Karen Neander, Josh Parsons; Suspension of recall of Henry Allison

2007-2008 (11.5)
Retirement of Paul Teller; Resignation of Jonathan Vogel; Decrease of Gerald Dworkin to 50%; Recall of Henry Allison (Temporary)

2008-2009 (11.5)
Hire of Aldo Antonelli, Elaine Landry; Resignation of Pekka Väyrynen, Brendan Jackson; Suspension of recall of Henry Allison

2009-2010 (13.5)
Hire of David Copp, Marina Oshana

2011-2012 (12)
Retirement of Gerald Dworkin; Resignation of Michael Glanzberg; Suspension of recall of Michael Wedin; Recall of Nicholas Jolley (Temporary)

2014-2015 (14)
Hire of Tina Rulli, Hanti Lin

2015-2016 (16)
Hire of Alyssa Ney, Zoe Drayson 

Document Actions



1240 Social Science and Humanities
University of California, Davis
One Shields Avenue
Davis, CA 95616
Phone: (530) 752-0703
Fax: (530) 752-8964


UC Davis and the Philosophy Department are committed to fostering an environment that is respectful, welcoming, and inclusive for students, faculty, and staff. Sexual harassment is prohibited by law and University policy. UC Davis has established complaint resolution procedures for students to use if they have concerns or complaints regarding suspected sexual harassment. For information, students may call the Harassment and Discrimination Assistance and Prevention Program (530-752-9255), or the Anonymous Call Line (530-752-2255). Additional information is available at